We all can remember that day when we first got to drive by ourselves. It was such a feeling of empowerment and independence. The thought of one day losing that sweet privilege seems impossible. However, it happens to many people.
When a person finds themselves having a suspended driving license or a license that has been revoked it can massively impact their life. It might be impossible to get to work or take children to school. Driving on a suspended license can be tempting, and one that many people might feel is necessary to survive.
In fact, this is an area that we have dealt with a number of times. Many people do find themselves in legal trouble when they are caught driving on a suspended license. What makes it difficult is that even when you are not aware that your license has been suspended, that doesn’t mean you are exempt from legal consequences.
What Causes Suspended Licenses
There are a number of reasons a person can have their licenses suspended. For example:
- Hit and run
- Driving while under the influence
- Drunk driving
- Fleeing from police
- Reckless driving
- Driving without insurance, and other traffic tickets, citations, moving violation or driving offenses.
Penalties for Driving With a Suspended License in Michigan
No matter what reason a license has been suspended for, when a person is caught driving, the charge is misdemeanor and a defendant can be sentenced up to 93 days in jail, and pay a fine up to $500.
Penalties for Driving With a Revoked License in Michigan
When a defendant has a “revoked” license, it is a more serious outcome than having simply a suspended driver’s license. When a person has a license revocation it means that it puts the offender in the position they were at before they ever had their license.
The only way a person can get their driver’s license back is to go through a restoration process. This process involves a lot of paperwork, and possible reinstatement hearings. There is no guarantee the license will be given back. You can be denied a license or issued a restricted license.
The revoked licenses differ from a suspended license in that with the suspended license it can come back and is automatically reinstated after the suspension period is up. There will be a reinstatement fine of $125 and for Michigan drivers, the license will be restored.
Accident on a Suspended License
A simple misdemeanor charge can become a felony when one gets into an accident on a suspended license. The outcome of the accident can impact the penalties that are involved.
When a person is injured in a car accident, a person can face up to 5 years in prison and fines up to $1,000 – $5000. If a person is driving with a suspended license and they cause death to another person, a person can face up to 15 years in prison according to the State of Michigan and fines up to $2,500 – $10,000.
Seek Experienced Help
If you, or someone you know, has been caught driving with a suspended or revoked license, seek help from an experienced attorney right away. At The David Kramer Law Firm PLLC, we have the experience to help individuals in these exact situations. Call today.
248-348-7400 or 586-530-1000
You might also like to read: