Have you had your driver’s license revoked?
Are you receiving warnings that you have too many points on your license?
How often we take ability to drive for granted. You never realize how blessed you are to have a working car and a driver’s license until they are taken away. This article is going to provide you with what you need to know in order to get your license back in Michigan.
When Your License Could Be Suspended Indefinitely
While many Americans would agree that driving is a necessity as opposed to a privilege, in Michigan there are situations when your license can be suspended indefinitely. According to the DMV.org, your license may be suspended indefinitely for,
- Insurance law violations
- Failing to appear for judgment
- Multiple drunken driving convictions
- Failing to comply with court judgment
Typical Reasons Licenses are Suspended
Typically, your license is suspending for the following reasons,
- Having too many points on your record
- Operation while intoxicated
- Refusal of a breathalyzer test
Length of Suspensions
- If you were charged with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of over .17, your license can be suspended for up to a year.
- If you refuse to take a Blood Alcohol Content test and are arrested for driving under the influence, your license can be suspended for up to a year.
- If you refused to take a Blood Alcohol Content test more than once within 7 years, your license can be suspended for up to two years.
Too Many Points on Your Driver’s License
In Michigan, points are collect on your driver’s license every time a traffic violation is committed. You will have those points on your driving record for up to two years. After too many points are added on your license, it can be suspended and you may be forced to take a driver re-examination test.
Here’s how to point system breaks down,
- Four Points: The Secretary of State (SOS) will send out a warning letter.
- Eight Points: A final warning letter will be sent out.
- Twelve Points: Your license may be suspended. You may be required to take a re-examination test.
Getting Your Driver’s License Back
Depending on the reasoning why you have lost your license, will determine how to get it back.
You may be able to contest your suspension. You can do that by requesting a SOS administration hearing. Print out this form and send it into the following address.
Michigan Department of State Driver Assessment and Appeal Division P.O. Box 30196 Lansing, MI 48090-7696
Or fax it to (517) 335-2190 or (517) 335-2189.
If your license has been revoked, you will need to petition the court and the Michigan SOS Driver Assessment and Appeal Division.
If your license has been suspended, you will need to fill out an Application for Driver’s License Reinstatement.
The Cost Of Getting Your License Back
According to the DMV website, here are the reinstatement fees,
- $25 – $50 for insurance law violations.
- $45 for failure to appear or comply with suspension.
- $125 for the standard driver’s license reinstatement.
Please note that the information provided in this article is general and not to be taken as legal advice. If you have specific questions or need legal advice, please contact my office. Your driver’s license is too valuable to chance the risk of losing it. Please call my office today.
248-348-7400 or 586-530-1000