Can your license be suspended indefinitely?
What if I refused to take the breathalyzer test?
If you are worried that your license will be revoked this is the article for you. Today, I am providing 5 questions you may be asking if you think your license is going to be revoked along with the answers to those questions. This information will help you determine if and how long your license will be revoked.
At the end of the article, we will also lay out how to start the processes of getting your license back.
5 Questions to Ask if Your Driver’s License is Revoked in Michigan
- Can My License Be Revoked for Refusing to Take a Breathalyzer?
Yes, if you refused to take a breathalyzer or a chemical test, your driver’s license can be revoked.Your license can be suspended for up to a year for refusing to take a breathalyzer if you were arrested for suspicion of driving under the influence.If you refuse to take another BAC or Blood Alcohol Concentration test in the next seven years, your license could get suspended for up to 2 years.
- What Would It Take To Get My License Suspended Indefinitely?
The following reasons are why someone could have their license suspended indefinitely in Michigan.
- Failing to appear for judgment.
- Multiple drunk driving convictions
- Failing to comply with the court judgment
- Insurance law violations.
- Could My License Be Suspended Because of Traffic Violations?
Yes, your license can be suspended due to traffic violations. You will have multiple warnings before it happens.
- At four points you will be sent a letter from the Secretary of State offering a warning.
- At eight points you will receive a final warning letter.
- At twelve points your license can be suspended. In order to get it back you will need to take a driver’s re-examination test.
Remember that the points will only stay on your record for 2 years and if you are getting close, the Secretary of State will send you a warning letter.
- Was Your Blood Alcohol Level 0.17 or more?
If you were charged with a DUI or OWI and a blood alcohol level was at or above 0.17 your license will be revoked for a year. After that you should be able to apply for reinstatement.
- How Much Does It Cost to Reinstate My License?
According to the DMV website, there are reinstatement fees. Keep in mind that these are general estimates: http://www.dmv.org/mi-michigan/suspended-license.php#-Reinstate-Your-Suspended-MI-License-
- $125 for the standard driver’s license reinstatement fee.
- $25 – $50 for insurance law violations.
- $45 for the failure to appear or comply with suspension.
You can make the payment in person or you can mail in a check, money order or use a credit card to the Secretary of State. Make the check payable to the “State of Michigan”.
Filing to get your license back may turn out to be a frustrating process. If you still have questions you can either read How to Get Your Revoked Driver’s License Back or give my office a call. You do not have to reapply for your driver’s license by yourself. If you are in need of legal representation for an offense that threatens the loss of your driver’s license. I am here to help.
248-348-7400 or 586-530-1000