Michigan Drunk Driving Charges and Penalties

Michigan drunk drivng charges and penalties

A man on the run from police for over three years has been found. Christopher Gainers, a 36-year-old man, is charged with the killing of David Arcand while driving in a wrong way and operating a vehicle while intoxicated.

Through surveillance, witness statements, and old fingerprints, the Michigan State Police were able to track Gainers down, according to The Detroit News. He has avoided being found by operating under a fake name until now.

The sad reality is that accidents happen all the time from the cause of driving under the influence. Thousands of people die each year and many are disabled due to these incidences. The State of Michigan is working hard to make sure the roads are as safe as possible and keep the penalties for those that are caught driving under the influence extremely strict.

Drunk Driving Penalties in Michigan

The penalties can vary for those that are first time offenders and depending on the circumstance of the incident. For drivers in Michigan whom have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or above, the penalties are less the if they are found with a BAC of .17% or higher. If a driver is found with a BAC below .08, the driver can be charged with Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI). In addition, if a minor is present during the incident, the penalties will increase if there was bodily harm.

Here is a breakdown of the more specific DUI penalties in Michigan that you could be looking at:

If the BAC is below .17 and it is a first offense:

  • Up to 180 days of license suspension
  • 6 points on a driver’s license.
  • Up to $500 fine
  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Up to 360 hours of community service

If BAC is .17 or higher and this is a first time offense:

  • Up to one-year license suspension
  • 6 points on a driver’s license
  • Mandatory completion of an alcohol treatment program
  • Ignition interlock use and compliance after 45 days of license suspension is required to receive a restricted license.
  • Up to $700 fine
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Up to 360 hours of community service

In addition, anyone that has been convicted of driving under the influence will have limited driving privileges and are required to pay for and keep up an installed ignition interlock device.

For David Arcand, he will be facing a slew of charges as well as the original charge of operating while intoxicated, including resisting arrest and evading arrest which is considered a felony in the state of Michigan.

When Faced With Drunk Driving Charges

If you are facing charges related to an incident involving drunk driving (DUI/OWI), it is important to seek legal advice right away. In addition, understanding the impact that resisting and evading arrest can do to your sentencing is vital. Instead of running from the law, seek help. There are ways to help diminish the sentencing and penalties, especially when it is a first time offense.

Having an experienced DUI defense attorney in these cases that has the knowledge to know how to navigate your specific case will be a tremendous help for you. Call today to learn more.

248-348-7400 or 586-530-1000