Michigan criminal defense attorney

14 Questions to Ask After Being Arrested For a DUI

14 questions

What are the costs of a DUI?

How can I prepare myself for a meeting with a lawyer

Michigan has more police on the roads seeking out anyone driving under the influence and not just alcohol, but also marijuana. The Detroit News reported that St. Patrick’s Day, March Madness and spring break have caused them to increase patrols on the roads.

If you think that you can drive after smoking pot, you should be aware that Michigan considers any scheduled 1 narcotic use and driving to be driving while impaired. Those who are caught will face the same punishments as someone who was drinking and driving.

The State of Michigan has harsh punishments for those who are caught driving under the influence.

Here are the punishments for driving under the influence. According to Michigan.gov, this is what you are facing if you have been charged with a driving under the influence or DUI.

The Reality of a Drunk Driving Conviction

If this is your first offense and your Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) was under .17.

  • Serve up to 93 days in jail.
  • Given up to 360 hours of community service.
  • Charged a $500 fine
  • Suspended license for 180 days
  • 6 points added to your license.

If this is your first offense and your Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) is above .17

  • Serve 180 days in jail.
  • Given up to 360 hours of community service.
  • Charged a $700 fine.
  • Suspended license for up to a year.
  • 6 points added to your license.
  • Completion of an alcohol treatment program.
  • An Ignition interlock system will be installed

The Courts Take Impaired Driving Seriously

If anyone refused to take the Breathalyzer, he or she faces a year of suspended license. If he or she refuses a second time, it is two years of suspended license.

The courts take impaired driving seriously and if you have been charged with it, so will you.

There is Hope for the Future

Being charged with Driving Under the Influence or DUI doesn’t mean there is no hope for the future for you or someone you love. With a skilled and experienced defense attorney, you will have you best chance.

If you have been charged with a DUI, there are some questions to ask yourself to help prepare for your defense.

Here are 14 questions to ask after being arrested for a DUI:

  1. Did I refuse the Breathalyzer or sobriety test? Or did I comply with the police officer?
  2. Describe to the best of your ability your driving ability prior to being stopped. Ask yourself questions like, were you swerving, what was the weather like, what were the roads like?
  3. Did you see the flashing lights of the police car and pull over right away?
  4. When you were pulled over, why did the police officer say he pulled you over? Was it because of a broken head light, or speeding or was it a sobriety check point?
  5. Do you remember what questions were asked of you by the police officer and how you answered?
  6. Prior to being pulled over, do you remember the time and where you were when you had you last drink? Do you remember how many drinks you had?

Questions You Should Ask Your Defense Attorney

As I mentioned earlier, having a criminal defense attorney that is experienced and skilled can make all the difference. The next set of questions will help you to determine if the lawyer is experienced and skilled.

  1. How many years have you been practicing law?
  2. Do you specialize in DUI cases? If so, how long have you been specializing?
  3. How many guilty vs. not guilty have you had?
  4. What is your history with having DUI charges dropped or reduced?
  5. Have you ever handled a DUI case similar to my own?
  6. Do you have any concerns about my DUI case?
  7. During the process who will I talk with when I call your office?
  8. How much will it cost me to hire you?

Summary

Getting a DUI charge is serious, but you don’t have to go it alone. Hiring an experienced criminal defense attorney and preparing yourself is the best thing you can do right now. If you are ready to take the next step, please call my office now.

248-348-7400 or 586-530-1000

This article was published on: March 26, 2014 and was last modified April 26, 2017