Have you or someone you love been charged with methamphetamine or meth possession in Michigan?
The state of Michigan has harsh penalties for illegal possession of methamphetamine. You or your loved one could be facing prison time and fines without the help of an experienced drug crimes defense attorney.
Overview of Methamphetamine
Meth is also referred to as crystal meth, ice, speed, glass, chalk or crank. It’s a highly addictive drug used recreationally for its ability to induce euphoria, alertness, and an energetic feeling.
The manufacture of the drug results in a white powder that can be snorted, smoked, or injected.
Some of its side-effects include anxiety and hallucinations, as well as heart attack. Withdrawal from meth is challenging and often leads to depression and excessive sleeping.
There are three disorders for which methamphetamines, under the brand name Desoxyn, are prescribed by doctors:
- Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder – also known as ADHD.
Even in those cases, the drug is indicated only after other measures have failed.
Methamphetamine is a schedule 2 drug in Michigan, and a controlled substance because of its highly addictive nature.
The possession, sale, or manufacture of meth is illegal as it has serious health ramifications for those who use or manufacture it.
Unlike cocaine or marijuana, which are derived from plants, methamphetamines are produced from chemicals.
These chemicals are themselves dangerous. They are often explosive or harmful, and their use has a tremendous environmental impact. Structures that have been used as meth labs often have to be torn down because it’s too expensive to have them cleaned.
Penalties for Methamphetamine Possession
In the last 20 years, meth use has increased to epidemic proportions. As a result, the state and federal governments have passed laws with more severe penalties for its possession, manufacture, and sale.
If you don’t have experience with the criminal justice system, you probably don’t know how serious meth possession charges genuinely are.
Not only does the state crack down on meth use and possession, if you are found to possess meth “precursors” or paraphernalia to make methamphetamines such as scales and balances, you could be looking at a felony conviction.
Prosecutors only have to prove that you knew or should have known the substance you possessed was meth.
Penalties for meth possession depend on several factors:
- A previous criminal record
- Whether you were charged with a misdemeanor or felony
- The amount of methamphetamines you are charged with possessing
You could be charged with a crime for:
- Use of methamphetamines: a misdemeanor with a fine of up to $2,000 and up to 1 year in jail, or both. This would only apply if you weren’t in possession of any meth at the time of your arrest. However, it could be proved that you had used it.
- Possession of methamphetamines: a felony offense with a fine of up to $15,000 and up to 10 years in prison, or both.
- Depending on the amount of meth in your possession, law enforcement may go for an even more severe charge, which is possession of meth with intent to deliver. This conviction could result in up to 20 years in prison and up to $25,000.
Keep in mind that all of these penalties apply to first-time convictions. In addition, they are likely to be enhanced if you have a prior criminal history.
Michigan Drug Crimes Attorney – Methamphetamine Possession
If you are facing a methamphetamine possession charge or other drug crimes in Michigan, contact David J. Kramer today. You need an experienced drug crimes defense attorney whether you have been charged or are only under investigation. David will work diligently to fight for your rights.
Let’s start fighting for your future.