Michigan criminal defense attorney

What to Expect When You Get a DUI in Michigan

Michigan DUI

How much will a DUI in Michigan cost your family?

Will you lose your license?

Laws and police are getting tougher and tougher on those who receive DUIs. DUIs or Driving Under the Influence is an overwhelming and frightful ordeal. There are court dates, meetings with lawyers, classes, fees, forms, and even jail time. It is simply not just standing before a judge.

If you are charged with a DUI, you are being charge with having driven under the influence of alcohol.In the State of Michigan, that would mean your blood has an alcohol level of .08. For some of us, that could be 1 drink for others 2 drinks. It is easier than you think to have too much to drink and drive.

If you blood alcohol level is over .17, you are likely to face harsher penalties. The Michigan State Police break up their cost penalties for driving under the influence as follows:

If BAC is below .17 and this is a first offense:

  • Up to $500 fine
  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • Up to 180 days license suspension
  • 6 points on a driver’s license

If BAC is .17 or higher and this is a first offense:

  • Up to $700 fine
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • Up to one year license suspension
  • 6 points on a driver’s license
  • Mandatory completion of an alcohol treatment program
  • Ignition interlock use and compliance after 45 days license suspension is required to receive a restricted driver’s license. Convicted drunk drivers have limited driving privileges, are prohibited from operating a vehicle without an approved and properly installed ignition interlock device, and are responsible for all installation and upkeep costs for the device.

Serenity Insurance estimates that the cost of a DUI for first-time offenders costs on average $6,000-$15,000.

This is why one of the most important things you can do when facing a DUI charge is to hire an experienced defense attorney. An experienced defense attorney will be able to guide you or your loved one through this lengthy process. If you have any questions, please call me at my office at:

248-348-7400 or 586-530-1000

DUI Infographic

Used with permission of Serenity Insurance

This article was published on: August 28, 2013 and was last modified August 28, 2013