Sex Crimes in Michigan: Penalties, Defenses, and What You Need To Know

Sex crimes in Michigan

What are sex crimes in the State of Michigan?

For many people, these are the most prominent types of crimes: they are in the media more often than other types of crimes. They are also the types of crimes ripped from headlines and made into storylines on popular court dramas like Law & Order: SVU. This can give viewers the sense that they know more about what this type of crime is, who gets charged with it, and how it can be punished.

If you find yourself on the receiving end of a sex crime charge, however, you will find that the process is much different than it looks on TV. You also need an experienced attorney who can guide you through it and answer all of your concerns.

Overview: What Are Sex Crimes?

There are several different types of offenses that fall into the sex crimes category. Generally, a sex crime involves illegal or forced sexual conduct against another individual, but there are other types of offenses in Michigan which are classified as sex crimes.

Here is the list of Michigan Sexual Offense Statutes and how each offense is classified if a charge is made:

  • Crime against nature or sodomy (MICH. COMP. LAWS § 750.158) Felony
  • Indecent exposure (MICH. COMP. LAWS § 750.335A) Misdemeanor
  • Gross indecency; between male persons (MICH. COMP. LAWS § 750.338) Felony
  • Gross indecency; between female persons (MICH. COMP. LAWS § 750.338A) Felony
  • Gross indecency; between male and female persons (MICH. COMP. LAWS § 750.338B) Felony Criminal sexual conduct, first degree (MICH. COMP. LAWS § 750.520b) Felony
  • Criminal sexual conduct, second degree (MICH. COMP. LAWS § 750.520c) Felony
  • Criminal sexual conduct, third degree (MICH. COMP. LAWS § 750.520d) Felony
  • Criminal sexual conduct, fourth degree (MICH. COMP. LAWS § 750.520e) Misdemeanor
  • Assault with intent to commit criminal sexual conduct (MICH. COMP. LAWS § 750.520g) Felony

It’s important to understand that if you are convicted of a sex crime, regardless of its severity, you will be considered a “sex offender” by the State of Michigan and face having your name added to the state and federal sex offender registries.

Statute of Limitations

The Statute of Limitations is designed to protect people from being charged, prosecuted or convicted of a crime – up to a certain level of severity – many years after it has been committed.

Here is the statute of limitations for sex crimes in Michigan, although if DNA evidence is found and the individual who committed the offense is identified, the crime may be prosecuted up to 10 years after the DNA evidence was found.

  1. No limit for criminal sexual conduct in the first degree (§ 750.520b)
  2. For the following offenses, within 10 years after commission of the offense, or by the alleged victim’s twenty-first birthday, whichever occurs later:
    • Criminal sexual conduct in the second degree (§ 750.520c)
    • Criminal sexual conduct in the third degree (§ 750.520d)
    • Criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree (§ 750.520e)
    • Assault with intent to commit criminal sexual conduct (§ 750.520g)
  3. For any other offense, within six years after commission of the offense

Take Away

If you or someone you love is faced with charges of sexual offense, you need the right person on your side. An experienced criminal defense attorney can make all the difference. Contact The David J. Kramer Law Firm, PLLC today.

Let’s start fighting for your rights

Contact us


For aspects of criminal sexual conduct and sexual assault laws, you may also like to read: