Do you know someone who has been charged with a hit and run?
Sadly, many Americans have found themselves in a car accident. Sometimes one might be the person that caused the accident, and sometimes one might be the one who was a victim in an accident.
In all cases, Michigan residents have an understanding that they are required by law to stop anytime they are in an accident regardless if they are at fault or not. When an individual fails to stop after an accident, it is a criminal offense and is known as a “hit and run.”
Michigan Hit and Run Defined
A hit in run is defined as a person that leaves the scene of an accident. That includes when the person has been injured as an occupant in a car or a pedestrian.
All Drivers Must Pull Over
The State of Michigan requires all involved in an accident to stop as soon as possible. Drivers can find the safest place to pull over and exchange information with the other driver. A driver doesn’t have to stop in the middle of moving traffic, but they will need to pull over on the first opportunity they can find.
When a person is in an accident they are required to exchange their:
- Name and address
- Vehicle registration
- Insurance information
- Address of owner of vehicle if not the driver
- And show their license.
If You Are Involved in a Hit and Run
Finding yourself charged with a hit and run can be scary. There are many reasons that a person might have found themselves in this situation. It might be because a defendant did not realize they hit another car, or it might be because they panicked and used poor judgment.
No matter the reason, it is important that driver seek legal help as the charges faced can be serious. Depending on the severity of the accident, it can result in jail time including a misdemeanor, fines, or possibly a felony charge.
Michigan’s Penalty for Hit and Run Charges
Michigan takes a hit and run case very seriously. The penalty can be steep. It is considered a misdemeanor charge with up to a year is prison and $1,000 in fines and license suspension when the accident has caused injury to a person.
When the accident has caused damage to a vehicle, it is considered a misdemeanor charge. A defendant can serve up to 90 days in jail and pay fines up to $100 and have their license suspended.
The charges get more intense when there is serious bodily injury or death to another person. When this happens the charge is a felony. In addition, the defendant can face up to 15 years in prison and pay up to $10,000 in fines.
What You Need to Do
In conclusion, no matter what the reason, it is critical to have an experienced defense attorney representing the defendant. A defense attorney will share a defendant’s side of the story by explaining the situation. This will help to make sure that the defendant does not have to face an unfair judgement.
If you or a loved one is facing a hit and run charge, seek an experienced defense attorney who has a proven record. The David J. Kramer Law Firm, PLLC is here to help. Call us today.