How Much Will Your DUI Cost You?

How Much Will Your DUI Cost You?

Will your DUI raise your car insurance?

What are the penalties for driving under the influence?

As the first weekend of May debuts, the weather is simply gorgeous in Metro Detroit. This weekend will be full of temperatures in the 70s and partly cloudy skies. After a long winter, this is the kind of weather that makes you want to kick back and relax.

However, as you relax, remember that the State of Michigan has a strict driving under the influence laws. This includes both alcohol and marijuana. Getting caught will cost you.

How much? While it’s difficult to give an overall blanket answer, I can provide some general information.

Court Fees, Fines, and Other Fees

Not too long ago, Serenity Insurance published a helpful infographic. This infographic displays what to do after getting a DUI.

One of the statics Serenity Insurance published was how much it cost for first time offenders charged with a DUI. For court fees, fines, and other fees for a first time offenders, a DUI could cost anywhere from $6,000 to $15,000.

Insurance Costs

Recently, the Detroit Free Press published an article about the cost of insurance for risky drivers, like drivers who have DUI. These drivers also included those with speeding tickets. This information came from a new WalletHub study.

The Free Press reported that in the nation, Michigan has the third highest insurance premium penalties for high-risk drivers. They also reported,

“Michigan drivers pay the steepest increase in premiums — up by $4,253 — if they have two at-fault accidents in two years, according to the WalletHub survey released on Tuesday. That can boost premiums overall by 68%.”

Here are some other findings for the WalletHub survey:

  • An individual with a DUI conviction could see their annual premium increase by $547 or a 9% increase.
  • An individual driving on a suspended license could see their annual premium increase by $307 or a 5% increase.

Michigan Law and Penalties

According to the Michigan State Police, below are the following penalties.

If BAC is below .17 and this is a first offense:

  • Up to $500 fine
  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • Up to 180 days license suspension
  • 6 points on a driver’s license

If BAC is .17 or higher and this is a first offense:

  • Up to $700 fine
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • Up to one year license suspension
  • 6 points on a driver’s license
  • Mandatory completion of an alcohol treatment program
  • Ignition interlock use and compliance after 45 days license suspension is required to receive a restricted driver’s license. Convicted drunk drivers have limited driving privileges, are prohibited from operating a vehicle without an approved and properly installed ignition interlock device, and are responsible for all installation and upkeep costs for the device.

Boating Under the Influence

New laws have changed the legal limit for boating under the influence in Michigan. It is now the same as driving under the roads. The legal limit for blood alcohol level is .08.

The Boat Michigan Course, reports the following penalties for being over the influence:

  • If you are arrested for boating under the influence, you will be charged with a misdemeanor.
  • If you receive three convictions within 10 years, you will be charged with a felony.
  • If you are boating under the influence and cause great bodily harm or the death of another person, you will be charged with a felony.

Summary

All these risky driving behaviors will cost you. In fact, those insurance increases could 3 to 5 years to change.

If you have been charged with a DUI, make sure to enlist the help of an experience criminal defense attorney. There is hope and strategies for defending a DUI charge.  Please call my office today:

248-348-7400 or 586-530-1000