Do you love riding your motorcycle without a helmet?
Do you love the feel of the wind on your face?
If you do, you are not alone. Many Michigan bikers rallied together and last year, the Michigan Senate passed a bill that now allows for Michigan bikers to leave their helmets at home. However, there are a few stipulations that need to be known if you chose to not to wear your helmet.
On this typically rainy April Friday, I’m going to review those stipulations for you. This way, during the weekend you can leave your helmet in the garage if you choose and enjoy the warm sun and wind on your face.
First let me start by saying that if you are wondering why Michigan’s helmet law was lifted let me quotes previous article that I wrote back in June 2012,
For the last 45 years, Michigan required motorcyclist to wear helmets. An article published by Michigan.gov, Michigan’s Official Web Site states: “Michigan originally implemented its helmet-use law in 1967 to comply with U.S. Department of Transportation requirements for federal funds. That requirement is no longer in place. With this change, Michigan joins the Great Lakes states of Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Wisconsin, Minnesota and Pennsylvania that have repealed or amended helmet-use laws to give riders a choice.”
You can read the entire article at Michigan‘s Motorcycle Helmet Law.
Are You Looking to Ride Without Your Helmet in 2013?
Here are the stipulations if you want to ride without a helmet:
- You must be 21 years of age.
- You will need to have at least $20,000 in medical coverage.
- You are required to have a motorcycle endorsement for the past 2 years or pass a motorcycle safety test.
This weekend, Detroiters, let’s get out and enjoy. While we enjoy the sun let’s also make sure we are staying safe. Have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you back on Monday.